Zoya Heidari
Zoya Heidari Supervises a Research Program on "Multiscale Rock Physics in Unconventional and Carbonate Reservoirs."
Program Goals
The main goal of Rock Physics Research Group is to develop methods for reliable interpretation of multi-scale physical properties of the rocks measured in the laboratory or in the subsurface in challenging formations such as organic-rich mudrocks and carbonate formations. The roadmap that we propose is to integrate multi-scale formation data, from pore scale to reservoir scale. We will offer methods to reliably interpret multi-scale formation data (i.e., measured physical properties of the rocks in different scales) to evaluate static and dynamic formation properties for improved reservoir characterization and production planning. 
The long-term goals of the Multiscale Rock Physics Program include:
Goal 1: To develop (a) new laboratory measurement techniques and (b) new interpretation techniques to characterize unconventional rocks such as organic-rich mudrocks and carbonate cores using NMR, electrical resistivity, dielectric, and other measurements,
Goal 2: To develop rock physics methods, algorithms, and work flows in a format that can be directly and easily used in the petroleum industry to solve challenging problems in formation evaluation and reservoir characterization for unconventional and carbonate reservoirs, and
Goal 3: To train professional petrophysicists, rock physicists, and petroleum engineers for the future of the petroleum industry and potential scientists for academia.
To successfully fulfill our objectives, we collaborate with faculty, scientists, and iengineers from diverse research institutes and universities with specialties in well logging, pore-scale measurements and numerical simulations, seismic interpretation and inversion, and reservoir simulation.
Sincere gratitute goes to all the sponsors and supporters of our research projects. This research program has been funded and supported by our industry partners including Aramco Services Company, BHP Billiton, BP, Chevron, ConocoPhillips, and Devon Energy from 2012 to 2015, American Chemical Society (ACS) through ACS PRF Doctoral New Investigator (DNI) Research Grant, and  Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) through Junior Faculty Research Initiation Award. A note of gratitude also goes to the W. D. Von Gonten Laboratories for making their facilities available for the experimental work performed in this research program.

Thank You!